Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

""The Laguna Beach County Water District (District) was incorporated as a County Water District in 1925 and operates as a Special District under the Water Code Section 30000 et. seq.

On June 3, 1998, the District and City of Laguna Beach filed an application with the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) of Orange County California for the District to operate as a subsidiary district of the city while continuing to exist as a special district with all the powers, rights, duties, obligations, and functions provided for by the Water Code.

The reorganization of the District became effective November 1, 2000 with the Laguna Beach City Council members sworn into office as the Ex-Officio Board of Directors (Board) and the former five-member Board of Directors were appointed as Commissioners to serve in an advisory capacity to the Board.

Publicly elected City Council members are sworn in as Ex-Officio Board of Directors of the District. The Board provides local control over the policies and decisions affecting water service in the community. Public meetings of the Board of Directors are held quarterly. 

Compensation: Board and Commission

Ex-Officio Board of Directors
  • No compensation is paid.
  • Health and life insurance benefits are provided. Health insurance covers the Board member and dependents, and the Board member contributes a percentage of the dependents premium rate. A $10,000 life insurance policy is provided, of which the amount reduces based on age.

  • A stipend of three hundred and ninety two dollars ($392.00) per month is paid, regardless of the number of meetings attended.
  • No entitlement to health or life insurance benefits

Ex-Officio Board of Directors
        Robert WhalenPresident
        Steve DicterowVice President
        Peter BlakeDirector
        Toni IsemanDirector
        Sue KempfDirector

General Counsel
        Paula E. Meyer, Esq.

Water Commission
Commissioners are appointed by the Board and serve a two-year term. Public meetings of the Commission are held monthly at the District.


Debbie Neev- Commission Chair
Debbie Neev has served as a commissioner for the Laguna Beach County Water District since 2002. Neev has been a resident of Laguna Beach for over 25 years. She brings more than 20 years of experience to the District’s Commission through her worldwide expertise in program and project management for water and wastewater, transportation and environmental projects. She has also served on the Scientific Advisory Board; was past president and current Director of the Harbor Association of Industry and Commerce; is the current director for Western States Petroleum Association (WSPA), and served on the Southern California Pipeline Safety Advisory Board. 

Neev holds a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Geophysical Engineering from Colorado School of Mines and is considered a valued addition to the District’s Commission.

Mark LewisVice Chair
Mark Lewis is a 25 plus year resident of Laguna Beach and has served on the District’s Commission since 2005. As the Public Works Director/City Engineer for the City of Fountain Valley, Lewis brings extensive knowledge working with various water agencies and organizations to the Commission. Working in North Orange County has provided Lewis with a broad perspective of the various water issues that face South County and in particular Laguna Beach. 

Lewis's passion is to improve and seek new methods for delivering reliable and affordable water to the District’s customers. Lewis is active in the community as a coach and tutor in youth sports and academics.

Jane Egly- Commissioner
Jane Egly is no stranger to water issues in Laguna  Beach. While serving as a Laguna Beach City Council member, Egly served on the District's Board as a Director from January 2005 through 2012. During her 2012 term as Board President, Egly joined mayors across the country asking residents to make a commitment to conserve water and cut pollution by taking part in the Mayors Challenge for Water Conservation a national contest aimed at drastically slashing water and energy use across the nation that encourages residents in all 50 states to conserve water, save energy, and reduce pollution, helping Laguna secure the title of most water wise city in its population category.

Egly is an experienced litigator and dedicated community leader who has devoted many hours of work to community service in our town. Egly is a strong advocate of environmental sustainability with particular focus on reduction of water use and is passionate about promoting water use efficiency to Laguna Beach residents.

Marvin Johnson - Commissioner
Marvin Johnson has served as a Commissioner for the District since 2006. A Laguna Beach resident for 20 years, Johnson exhibits a solid commitment to the community through his extensive involvement as a docent for the Hortense Miller Garden and Laguna Coast Wilderness Park; a board member at Laguna Greenbelt Incorporated; and a volunteer for the Friends of the Laguna Beach Library Bookstore. Johnson also served on the Open Space Committee for six years and served two of those years as the committee chair.

Johnson’s interests lie in water conservation and finding local solutions to Laguna Beach’s water supply.


Cheryl KinsmanCommissioner
Cheryl Kinsman was appointed to the Laguna Beach County Water District Commission in 2011. Kinsman, a certified public accountant brings her financial expertise to the District's Commission. Kinsman believes strongly in community service and has demonstrated that commitment serving as Mayor and Mayor Pro-tem of Laguna Beach. She has served as a City Council Member, Planning Commissioner, past president and board member of the North Laguna Community Association, treasurer of the Laguna Beach Neighborhood Watch, and as a member of the Laguna Beach Parking, Traffic, Circulation Committee.  Kinsman has been a resident of Laguna Beach for over 30 years.

Management Staff

Christopher J. Regan, Interim General Manager

David Youngblood, Manager of Engineering and Operations

Brian W. Jewett, Manager of Finance